IFC Semi Final v Clogherinkoe

Sunday 27th September

2020 Intermediate Football Championship Semi Final

FT: Clogherinkoe 0-14 Ballymore 1-08

Clogherinkoe scored the first two points from Jack Robinson then Niall Murphy got one for Ballymore. Midfielder Daniel Grehan got their third then Simon Murphy replied with one for Ballymore. Clogherinkoe pushed on with five points in a row then, the first from Mark Nolan, followed by one each from Robinson and Ciaran Gravin, another from Nolan and the fifth from Cein McMonagle. First water break: Clogherinkoe 0-08 Ballymore 0-02. Tadhg Barrett got Ballymore’s third point then Robinson got another for Clogherinkoe. A great save from Tommie Archbold followed by a point from Niall Murphy reduced the gap to 5. Clogherinkoe’s Cein McMonagle got the next score and Niall Murphy replied with one the other end for Ballymore. Half time Clogherinkoe 0-10 Ballymore 0-05.

Cein McMonagle had a goal chance brilliantly saved by Tommie Archbold then they got a point from Dean Hanley soon after. Simon Murphy got a point for Ballymore then Eoghan McMonagle got one for Clogherinkoe to put 6 between the sides. Ballymore fought back with a goal from substitute Tadhg Grace to reduce the gap to three then Eoghan McMonagle got another point for Clogherinkoe just before the second water break. Clogherinkoe 0-13 Ballymore 1-06. Points from Simon and Niall Murphy left just two between the sides, with Tommie Archbold keeping Clogherinkoe out of the Ballymore net at the other end. With a few minutes left Ballymore continued to push hard but it was Clogherinkoe who ended up getting the final point of the match, from Ciaran Gravin, to give them a three point win in the end. Full time Clogherinkoe 0-14 Ballymore 1-08.

A disappointing day for our Senior team but a great achievement to get to the semi finals in their first year back up in the Intermediate grade.


Tommie Archbold,

Kevin Kelleher,

Mark Barrett,

Joe Broderick,

Michael Stewart Byrne,

David McAtamney,

Caolan Halpin,

Patrick Murphy,

Shane Barrett,

Stephen Dwyer,

Niall Murphy,

Brian Crowe,

Tadhg Barrett,

Gareth Clarke,

Simon Murphy.

Subs: Tadhg Grace for Gareth Clarke Stephen Davis for Joe Broderick Ben Noone for Brian Crowe William O’Donoghue for Tadhg Barrett

– GM