Intermediate Football Championship v Milltown

Sun 6th September 2020
Intermediate Football Championship Round 2
FT: Ballymore 3-13 Milltown 2-07

Ballymore scored the first two points from Simon Murphy and Aaron Deegan then Milltown got one back. Niall Murphy got a point for Ballymore then Brian Crowe got the first goal of the match to put us 1-03 to 0-01 ahead.

A great save from Tommie Archbold and a point from Gareth Clarke gave Ballymore a seven point lead at the first water break.

Simon Murphy got the first point of the second quarter then a Gareth Clarke goal was disallowed. Ballymore hit the back of the net again a few minutes later, with Simon Murphy getting our second goal, 2-06 to 0-01.

Milltown got two more points before Caolan Halpin got the last score of the first half to make it Ballymore 2-07 Milltown 0-03 at the break.

Milltown got 1-01 in the opening minutes of the second half to reduce the gap to six but Ballymore responded well with three points in a row, two from Simon Murphy and one from Niall Murphy to make it Ballymore 2-10 Milltown 1-04.

Ballymore continued to dominate after another great save from Tommie Archbold followed by Niall Murphy scoring 1-01. In the next few minutes Milltown scored three points and Niall got another for Ballymore.

David McAtamney got a point for Ballymore then Milltown were awarded a penalty, which they scored, just before the full time whistle was blown.

Full time Ballymore 3-13 Milltown 2-07

Tommie Archbold
Kevin Kelleher
Mark Barrett
Joe Broderick
Michael Stewart Byrne
David McAtamney (0-01)
Caolan Halpin (0-01)
Patrick Murphy
Tadhg Grace
Tadhg Barrett
Niall Murphy (1-04)
Brian Crowe (1-00)
Aaron Deegan (0-01)
Gareth Clarke (0-01)
Simon Murphy (1-05)

Stephen Dwyer for Aaron Deegan
Stephen Davis for Caolan Halpin
William O’Donoghue for Gareth Clarke
Ronan O’Malley for Tadhg Grace

– GM