IFC v Ellistown

Mon 3rd August 2020 Intermediate Football Championship Round 1

FT: Ballymore 1-20 Ellistown 2-09

Ballymore got off to a good start scoring the first three points of the game from Michael Stewart Byrne, Niall Murphy and Simon Murphy however Shane Barrett had to go off injured in the first few minutes which was a worry. Michael Stewart Byrne stopped a goal chance for Ellistown but they then got a point from Andy O’Neill, followed by a goal from Conor O’Loughlin. Ballymore then got the next five points in a row from Simon Murphy, Patrick Murphy, two more from Simon and one from Steven Dwyer, to make it Ballymore 0-08 Ellistown 1-01 at the first water break.

Gareth Clarke got the next point for Ballymore which was followed by one from Caolan Halpin. Brian Crowe and Niall Murphy got the next two to put Ballymore 0-12 to 1-01 ahead. Ellistown then got their second goal from Gary Kinahan, followed by three points in a row, two from Eoin O’Loughlin and one from Conor O’Loughlin. Half time Ballymore 0-12 Ellistown 2-04.

The first score of the second half was a goal from Gareth Clarke after a pass from Simon Murphy. Caolan Halpin and Andy O’Neill got one at either end then Caolan and Niall Murphy put two more points on the board for Ballymore. Ballymore 1-15 Ellistown 2-05. Conor Lindy and Andy O’Neill score the next two points for Ellistown then Brian Crowe got the next for Ballymore. Andy O’Neill got another for Ellistown then Niall and Simon Murphy got two more for Ballymore. Another point each end for Simon Murphy and Andy O’Neill followed and then Simon Murphy got the final point of the match. Full time Ballymore 1-20 Ellistown 2-09.

Ballymore: Tommie Archbold Joe Broderick Mark Barrett Stephen Davis Michael Stewart Byrne (0-01) David McAtamney Caolan Halpin (0-03) Shane Barrett Patrick Murphy (0-01) Stephen Dwyer (0-01) Niall Murphy (0-04) Brian Crowe (0-02) Tadhg Barrett Gareth Clarke (1-01) Simon Murphy (0-07) Subs: Tadhg Grace for Shane Barrett Ronan O’Malley for Stephen Dwyer Kevin Kelleher for Joe Broderick Liam Broderick for Gareth Clarke

Ellistown: Alan Melia Christy Kelly Brendan Byrne Sean Lindy Gary Kinahan (1-00) Shane O’Loughlin Cillian Barry Eoin Cannon James Sutton Eoin O’Loughlin (0-02) Andy O’Neill (0-05) Pat Martin Conor Lindy (0-01) Conor O’Loughlin (1-01) Kevin Martin

– Gillian Murphy


Ballymore Eustace G.A.A