Reserve C Champ Final v Castledermot

Sun 4th October 2020

Reserve C Championship Final

FT: Ballymore 0-12 Castledermot 0-11

After lots of build up to the big final all week, it was played in possibly the worst weather conditions either set of players had ever faced.

Castledermot got the first score of the match then Eoin Lyons got Ballymore’s first point. Castledermot got their second then Eoin Kavanagh equalised for Ballymore. Points from Eoin Lyons and Darragh Gilroy followed by one for Castledermot made it 0-04 to 0-03 to Ballymore. Captain Shane Fitzpatrick got the next point for Ballymore then Castledermot got three in a row to take a one point lead. Eoin Kavanagh got the next point for Ballymore then Castledermot got one more before the break. Half time Castledermot 0-07 Ballymore 0-06

Castledermot got the first two points of the second half then Shane Fitzpatrick and Eoin Lyons points left just one between the sides again. A brilliant save from Stephen Foley stopped Castledermot hitting the back of the net but they got the next point. Shane Fitzpatrick got one back for Ballymore to make it 0-10 to 0-09 in favour of Castledermot. Eoin Kavanagh levelled things again with another point then Eoin Lyons gave Ballymore a one point lead going into the final minutes. A nerve wrecking last few minutes for both sets of supporters saw a A point from Eoin Kavanagh to gave us a two point lead with the clock ticking down. Castledermot got another point to leave just one between the sides but it was Ballymore who held on until the full time whistle was blown to win the championship title in the end!

A terrible day for a match but a brilliant win for the Ballymore Junior team to maintain their excellent unbeaten record for the 2020 season. A proud day for all involved. Congratulations to all the team and management!


Stephen Foley

Alan Gilroy

Colin Browne

Craig Byrne

Jack Sammon

Keith Fennell

Jamie Curran

Stuie Byrne

Darragh Gilroy (0-01)

Eoin Lyons (0-04)

Jordan Deegan

Shane Fitzpatrick (0-03)

Gerry Fennell

Eoin Kavanagh (0-04)

Evan Keogh


Callum McClintock for Keith Fennell

Peter Lawlor for Colin Browne

Our other panel members for the championship: Cein Meade, Conor Gilroy, Stephen Fisher.

– GM