Oliver Plunketts v Moorefield Minor 02/08/22 Football league Division 3

Ballymore was the venue for the meeting of Oliver Plunketts Minors league match against Moorefield. Both teams needed a win give them a chance of making the play off and it was Moorefield who opened the stronger scoring the first 4 points without reply. Plunketts, who could only field the bare 15 players due to holidays and injuries started to work their way into the game and 3 points from Callum Barrett and a Kyran Doyle point allowed them draw level after 15 minutes. Indeed, Plunketts started to press harder in the 2nd quarter and but for a disallowed goal and 2 near misses they could have been well ahead. Moorefield, playing against the wind played some nice football and a couple of Sam Ryan points eventually saw them lead at half time by 0:07 to 0:06.

Plunketts starting very strongly in the 2nd half and with 2 well taken points by Dan Clarke and Ed Choiseul they took the lead. 5 minutes later Callum Barrett dispossessed the Moorefield full back to win possession and bury the ball to the back of the net to put Plunketts into a dominant position. Moorefield fought back with 2 more well taken points but when a fine run by Ed Choiseul ended in him scoring a lovely goal it looked like Plunketts would take the spoils. However, with the bare 15 players and no subs it was evident that Plunketts would hit a flat spot. Moorefield score 1:01 without reply to narrow the margin greatly.

In the last quarter, to their credit Plunketts stood up in the heat of battle and took the game to Moorefield. 2 Christian Barry points and 2 late Kyran Doyle goals guaranteed victory for Plunketts who in the end were fully deserving of their victory.

It’d be hard to call out any stand out players as to a man each Plunketts player put in a fantastic shift and battled to the end.

Callum Barrett 1:07, Kyran Doyle 2:01, Ed Choiseul 1:01, Dan Clarke 1:01, Christian Barry 0:02

Plunketts- Tomas O’Connor, Alan Winders, Des Horan, Charlie O’Flaherty, Sam Fahey, Seamus Kelleher, Charlie O’Boyle, Max Barry, Christian Barry, Ed Choiseul, David Grant, Kyran Doyle, Luke Fisher, Callum Barrett, Dan Clarke. (Paddy Barrett Inj. Michael Collins Inj)