SFL v Rathangan

Sat 25th July 2020

Senior Football League Div 3 Round 2

FT: Rathangan 3-17 Ballymore 0-24

Kevin Forde got the first score of the match for Rathangan then Ballymore got their opening point from Gareth Clarke. Ballymore then got four in a row, 3 from Niall Murphy and one from Caolan Halpin. Aran Teahan scored the next point for Rathangan which was followed by one for Ballymore from Simon Murphy. Ballymore 0-06 Rathangan 0-03. Rathangan got the next 3 points from Eoghan Boyle, Sean Glennon and Aran Teahan. Niall Murphy got one for Ballymore then Rathangan equalised again with a point from Kevin Forde to make it 0-07 each at the first half water break.

Patrick Murphy scored a great point to give Ballymore the lead again then Brian Mullally levelled it again. Simon Murphy and Mullally got one each to make it 0-09 all. Aran Teahan put Rathangan one up again but three points in a row from Caolan Halpin just before half time made it Ballymore 0-12 Rathangan 0-10 at the break.

Niall and Simon Murphy got the first two points of the second half, then Ross Teahan scored one for Rathangan to reduce the gap to 3. Ballymore were then reduced to 14 men and Mullally scored another for Rathangan. Ballymore 0-14 Rathangan 0-12. Ballymore got the next three points, from Niall Murphy and Simon Murphy (x2) to go 5 points up again. It was all Rathangan for the next few minutes, who scored 2-02 in a row, the goals from Eoghan Boyle and Brian Mullally, the points from Shane Mooney and Mullally again. Rathangan 2-14 Ballymore 0-17.

Patrick Murphy got one point back for Ballymore then Rathangan got their third goal, another from Eoghan Boyle to go 5 points ahead. Ballymore responded well though, getting the next three points from Patrick Murphy and Simon Murphy (x2). Rathangan 3-14 Ballymore 0-21. Mullally scored another for Rathangan then Shane Barrett got one for Ballymore. Caolan Halpin then scored another to leave just one between the sides in the final minutes. Mullally and Patrick Murphy traded points at either end, then Eoghan Boyle scored the last point of the game to secure Rathangan’s win.

FT: Rathangan 3-17 Ballymore 0-24.

Ballymore: Tommie Archbold Tom Murphy David McAtamney Joe Broderick Callum McClintock Stephen Davis Caolan Halpin (0-05) Shane Barrett (0-01) Patrick Murphy (0-04) Stephen Dwyer Niall Murphy (0-06) Brian Crowe Ronan O’Malley Gareth Clarke (0-01) Simon Murphy (0-07) Subs: Kevin Kelleher for Ronan O’Malley Ben Noone for Gareth Clarke Shane Kavanagh for Callum McClintock William O’Donoghue for Stephen Dwyer

Rathangan: Joshua Smullen Oisin O’Loughlin Thomas O’Connell Shane O’Loughlin Shane Mooney (0-01) Stefan Lawler Ivan Briody Michael Fitzsimons Ross Teahan (0-01) Sean Glennon (0-01) Muiris Curtin Eoghan Boyle (2-02) Brian Mullally (1-07) Kevin Forde (0-02) Aran Teahan (0-03)

– Gillian Murphy