Keogh Cup: Clogherinkoe 1-12 Ballymore 0-14

Date: Sat 7th March 2020

Fixture: Keogh Cup v Clogherinkoe

Venue: Clogherinkoe

Score: Clogherinkoe 1-12 Ballymore 0-14

We finally got to play our Keogh Cup match against Clogherinkoe today, after it had been postponed twice before due to the weather.

Clogherinkoe got a goal in the first few minutes from Mark Nolan. Ballymore responded with a Tadhg Barrett point, then Clogherinkoe got a point from Cein McMonagle. Ballymore got two more points from Shane Barrett and Caolan Halpin to make it Clogherinkoe 1-01 Ballymore 0-03.

Sean Nolan scored a point for Clogherinkoe then Ballymore were unlucky not to get a goal when Brian Crowe hit the crossbar. Tadhg Barrett scored a point to reduce the gap to one again. Sean Nolan and McMonagle scored two more for Clogherinkoe then Caolan Halpin got one back for Ballymore. Clogherinkoe 1-04 Ballymore 0-05.

McMonagle and Aedan Boyle got two more for Clogherinkoe then Brian Crowe got one for Ballymore. Midfielder Daniel Grehan put the home side four ahead again but Ballymore fought back with points from Caolan Halpin and Enda Stewart Byrne. Sean Nolan got the last point of the first half to make it Clogherinkoe 1-08 Ballymore 0-08 at the break.

Sean Nolan got the opening score of the second half, then Shane Barrett and Stephen Dwyer got two for Ballymore. Caelum Flanagan then restored Clogherinkoe’s lead back to three. Shane Barrett and Daniel Grehan got one each then Shane Barrett scored two excellent points to reduce the gap to just one, 1-11 to 0-13.

Caolan Halpin leveled the match but Clogherinkoe got one last point from Cein McMonagle to win in the end. Full time Clogherinkoe 1-12 Ballymore 0-14.

Ballymore: Tommie Archbold Kevin Kelleher Mark Barrett Jake Meehan Callum McClintock Michael Stewart Byrne Stephen Davis Caolan Halpin (0-04) David McAtamney Stephen Dwyer (0-01) Shane Barrett (0-05) Brian Crowe (0-01) Enda Stewart Byrne (0-01) Niall O’Neill Tadhg Barrett (0-02)

Subs: Tadhg Grace for Niall O’Neill Ronan O’Malley for Tadhg Barrett Joe Broderick for Jake Meehan Aaron Deegan for Enda Stewart Byrne Danny Gorman for Stephen Dwyer

Clogherinkoe: Keith Wilkinson Conor Grehan Elian Scanlon Damien Flood Gavin Scanlon Killian Galligan Mikey Barea Daniel Grehan (0-02) Mark Grehan Glenn Basnett Mark Nolan (1-00) – Sean Nolan (0-04) Cein McMonagle (0-04) Aedan Boyle (0-01) Subs: Caelum Flanagan 0-01

  • Gillian Murphy